Suffering as weakness

Standard

Sometimes I see my illness as weakness, something to be overcome or something that holds me back, keeps from doing God’s work. I couldn’t be farther from the truth. On p. 29 of Forgiving Others, Forgiving Me a passage hit me : ” …”sometimes I missed the chance to let God’s power shine through my weakness and inability. God tells us that if we want to be first in his kingdom , we have to become last on this earth”. What do you think that means?

Rumi, the great Sufi poet writes in “Ladder to Heaven” …The spiritual way ruins the body and having ruined it, restores it to prosperity, Ruins the house for the sake of the golden treasure, and with that same treasure builds it better than before,…” Have you had that experience?

The First Two Noble Truths of Buddha address suffering describing it as a part of life that must be accepted, but not clinged to, that trying to control it often leads to greater pain. I found what looks to be a good book on the subject: How to be Sick by Toni Bernard (http://www.elephantjournal.com/2011/04/how-to-be-sick–toni-bernhard) There is an interesting article there about it.

I would love to read your thoughts about any of these questions and don’t forget we’ll meet again on Sat. Nov. 2nd!

Leave a Reply

